Phishing Scam?

Visa Debit card from Bank of America

I do a lot of online shopping and hubby does online banking. My daughter carries my debit card so that she can do shopping for me as needed. Every once in a while the bank might call about a certain charge to make sure it is legitimate. And the last time hubby went on a trip to the northeast, his debit card was closed unexpectedly prompting a frantic phone call to the bank. The bank, knowing we did not live in the northeast part of the US assumed our card had been stolen and closed it to further charges until he contacted them. It’s nice to know they are actually trying to watch our back! I got two messages on the phone this morning before I was up and about. I was urged to call an 800 number and given a reference number. The message said it was about suspicious charges at our banking institution. If I hadn’t been called about a duplicate charge just in the last few weeks by our bank, I might have called this number without a thought. I called hubby first to tell him about it. He said, “Don’t EVER call a message like that! That is a scam. They will try to get your banking numbers and information from you pretending to fix a suspicious problem. Our bank will always call us. There will never be an obscure call from an 800 number!” Has this ever happened to you? Beware! I was tempted to call it since hubby was not at home at the time, but because I knew our bank would call us personally, I hesitated! Never call the odd numbers or answer unusual emails. Alway check with your institution personally, not through the odd or obscure message. Protect yourself!

And now for the other side of the story…hubby went out to run errands this morning. He went to Walmart, then to the dollar store and then stopped at Burger King for a burger. His card was denied at burger king! So I called our bank and they gave me the same 800 number that had been on our message machine. When I asked why I needed to call that number since I was talking to them, they told me it was a fraud protection line with Visa. So, I called. A couple of days ago, our daughter was ordering online from my Avon store. The web page jumped, switched, and her info was lost causing her to redo the order. Well, later both charges showed up at the bank and it was flagged by the fraud protection line. After I explained, they lifted the block on our card. Hubby was able to shop at Walmart and the dollar store because he used the debit option, but the credit card option is what had been blocked.  So…I guess we have to be extra vigilant and even if a message is suspicious, we need to check it out, but use care and never give out sensitive information. The number I called did not ask for any bank numbers, only my name and address info to confirm I was who they thought they were talking to. An interesting morning.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

