Make a top ten list of favorite things to do you haven’t done in over a year | The Daily Post at WordPress.com

Giant woman and wheelchair accessible

Image by Kodamakitty via Flickr

Make a top ten list of favorite things to do you haven’t done in over a year | The Daily Post at WordPress.com.

I’m not sure I can come up with 10, but here goes.

1. Take a bubble bath. That used to  be my favorite thing to do. It’s a great stress reliever, and a “get away from it all” activity. Since I can no longer straighten my knees, it is much too difficult to climb over the edge of the tub and lower myself down.

2. Go for a walk. I never thought I’d want to go for a walk, but now that I no longer am able to walk but a few steps, it seems like a wonderful thing to be able to do.

3. Visit my daughter’s house. She has steep, narrow steps to get into her front door. The steps are impossible for someone with a walker or wheelchair.

4. Travel from Texas to Louisiana to visit my son and his family.  Not only do I have the problem with someone getting me in and out of a wheelchair if I want to go any distance, I also have a leaky bladder which is exacerbated by lymphedema . I can’t go anywhere without knowing where the bathrooms are, and the need for wheelchair accessable bathrooms! Believe it or not, in this day of new regulations, not all facilities are wheelchair accessible. There is a difference in handicapped accessible and being able to enter a stall in a wheelchair. Knowing I only have a 2 hour timeframe before needing a bathroom limits my activities.

5. I’d like to sing in my Church choir again. The problem is, I need someone to take me, help me in and out of my wheelchair, and either hang around until I’m done, or come back for me. Also, the choir area in the sanctuary is not accessible. It is raised up and you have to go up steps to sit there.

6.I never have liked housework, but since I am partly handicapped, there are many areas out of my reach that I’d like to be able to do for myself. I’d like to be able to reach and run the washing machine. I’d like to be able to cook a meal without burning myself, but normal kitchens are not made for those in a chair.  I could go on, but you get the idea.

7. Ride a bicycle or do the fun exercise program on the wii. I used to like riding the bicycle and the games on the wii are really cute and fun. I can do some of them sitting in a chair, but many are not possible without being able to stand. I have always been a couch potato. Who knew I would ever be eager to exercise.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Make a top ten list of favorite things to do you haven’t done in over a year | The Daily Post at WordPress.com

  1. oldancestor says:

    I was driving through Princeton yesterday, where I work (not at the University), and I realized, looking around, how many places are wheelchair inaccessible. I hadn’t thought about it before. It’s a great town and fun…if you’re mobile.

    Sorry you have to deal with frustrations that others take for granted. Perhap’s it’s cost prohibitive, but you can get a walk in bathtub installed. It comes with a watertight door and a seat so it’s much easier to get in and out. No doubt you’ve thought of that.

    I haven’t been to New York city or in an Art Museum in over a year, two things I used to do at least every couple of months. Life keeps getting in the way! Time to reprioritize.

    Like

Leave a Reply

