Is enough, enough? « PhilosophiesOfBrandon’s Blog

Praying Hands

Image by C Jill Reed via Flickr

Is enough, enough? « PhilosophiesOfBrandon’s Blog.

This blog had a lot to say. It gave me a lot to think about. Yes, we need to emulate Christ and learn to forgive, over and over. But what about tough love? When is enough enough? We all have to learn from our own choices. The bad choices we make teach us how to live and to learn from them. If someone is constantly fixing the consequences of our bad choices, we learn nothing. And a friend who is constantly taking from you, or constantly expecting you to give emotionally, or monetarily, is not much of a friend. If you have stayed in that friendship hoping to help someone, but all that is happening is that you are being sucked dry, it is time to distance yourself from them. When you spend a lot of time in the company of those who drag you down emotionally, or morally, compromising your Christian values, you are no longer an influence on them…they are influencing you. We ultimately have to protect our own spiritual health with the help of prayer and obedience to God. There is always a fine line between one thing and the other…the two sides of a coin, if you will. You have to be careful to know your boundaries and strive never to cross that spiritual line. And if  you do…learn to recognize what you have done, and turn back to the Church,  the Bible and to prayer to get back to that “narrow road” that leads to God.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is enough, enough? « PhilosophiesOfBrandon’s Blog

  1. Kristin Brænne says:

    Like

  2. Brandon says:

    Yes! Exactly. There is so much in the Bible about loving and forgiving and encouraging, but also a ton about departing from others in Romans, 1 and 2 Timothy, and Titus. There is a balance between forgiveness and discipline, a very fine line. Who knows… definitely situational.

    Like

  3. eof737 says:

    Nobody needs vampires but we all need friends… The difference is for us to observe and tell. Sometimes loved ones go through a difficult phase and we support them but it is not a permanent condition.
    If a certain behavior persists, we can be the friend and chat with the offending party. I believe communication is the doorway to healing and healing ourselves and others… and it can’t be one-sided. 🙂
    Eliz

    Like

  4. wordangell says:

    So very true a statement. I have followed Christ’s teachings and have learned to forgive as second nature, we have never walked in other people’s shoes and cannot understand the sequence of events that lead people to be cruel or unkind, there have been those that I had to break the friendship with. I always feel so terribly bad about it because maybe that was their need, however I do pray about it and know that maybe by cutting the relationship that was sucking the spiritual life out of me I am open to other things God has planned for me. That’s exciting. Love your blog. M

    Like

Leave a Reply

