Book Review–“Life in Spite of Me”

Picture of an open book, that does not show an...

Image via Wikipedia

 

 

 

   

I first saw Kristen Jane Anderson on Trinity Broadcasting Network giving her testimony. I was caught by this beautiful, young woman in a wheelchair and stopped flipping channels to listen. She decided at age 17 to commit suicide by laying across railroad tracks. When I had the opportunity to read her story, I jumped at the chance.

My first impression of her book is that it is an easy read. What I mean by that is, the text just flows easily as if you were listening to a conversation. You are quickly caught up in Karen’s story. She had a “normal” childhood; two parents who loved her, an older brother and sister, time spent together, meals shared, prayer at bedtime and Church each week. When she was in the 5th grade, her father was diagnosed with depression and the mood in the home gradually changed. Some days were good and some days were not. She began pondering the why of everything, Why did this happen, should I have done something different? Volunteering at a homeless shelter and seeing the lack and the despair; the death of her grandmother; the death of two classmates and another who committed suicide, all contributed to her growing desolation and inner turmoil. She couldn’t understand how to cope and one day reached the point of wanting to end her life. The result of her choice to lay across railroad tracks as a 300-car train approached, her new existence coping with the loss of her legs, the continuous pain, and learning to go on, is a wonderful, insightful and introspective story. Her physical and spiritual growth toward wholeness is well worth the read. I loved this book and recommend it highly.
 
 

 

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review”.
 

  Please rate my review here  http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/bloggingforbooks/reviews/ranking/6176

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

