Video games for Grandma

Animal Crossing: City Folk

Image via Wikipedia

I got a wii for a Christmas gift two years ago. I am now 61 years old. I quickly found that my compulsive/addictive personality just naturally found video games to be exciting. My first game was Animal Crossing City Folk. It is rated E for everyone which suits me just fine. I don’t like watching R rated movies, so certainly don’t want any games with questionable material. This is a charming game. You move to a new city, buy a house and begin a new life as a boy or a girl. You pick fruit from trees to sell for money, or fish. You use the money to buy supplies, new furniture, or pay for your house and build a new one. It changes with the seasons and is enough to keep this grandma interested for many hours.

When that game became a little repetitive and simple to me, I found the Harvest Moon series of games. Similar to Animal Crossing, it is one step up in programming sophistication, but still rated E. You begin a new life, start a farm, grow vegetables to sell, raise cows, sheep and chickens. You can sell the milk, wool, and eggs, and enlarge your farm, your house, buy more land to develop. You can forage for sea shells, go mining, go fishing and sell everything you find or produce. Besides these chores, you can befriend the villagers and choose someone to marry to raise a family. I have 4 versions of the Harvest Moon games, and each has its pros and cons but all are addictive. You want to keep playing until you meet a goal, whether it is to see the crops of each season, or to do all the tasks required to help save the Mother Tree and finish the game.

The next step up, but very similar to the Harvest Moon games is Rune Factory Frontier, the only Rune Factory game made for the wii system. I love this one, and quickly became addicted once again. All of the similar elements are there…start a life, cultivate your lands and grow vegetables to sell, or woo the girls to pick a bride. Included in this one, is the need to master the different tools as well as swords and weapons to fight monsters in the mines you discover. Completing one mine by getting past all the monsters safely and reaching the end, will open up a new mine to explore and find jewels and materials and food to use and to sell. This one is rated E10+ because to get past the monsters, you have to kill them. No blood and gore of course, but for young children it can be a little disconcerting because many of the monsters are cute and the first time you kill one, it is a little upsetting. But, they are not really killed, but returned to their forests, and you can tame them and make them your pets. Many levels of tasks and skill levels to hold your interest!

If the simulation type game gets boring, I also found Thrillville Off the Rails. It is a theme park where you build all the rides and roller coasters. Rated E10+. Help Wanted is one that takes perseverance and determination. There are 50 different types of jobs to master, with different levels of skill required, such as cook, fisherman, dairy farmer, tailor, dentist, goalie. All need some time to master and you find yourself becoming very competitive and strive to be able to master each job. I found myself sometimes getting frustrated or angry when I had a lot of trouble mastering something my daughter found easier. This one just sucks you into the game and you can waste a lot of time.

So, for a 61 year old grandma, I found the self-competitive games and the life simulation games the most fun as well as the most addictive. I began to see where a parent might have trouble regulating their children’s time when I tended to spend most of my weekend playing continuously! All that aside, there are games out there for all ages, and all interests. My daughter and I joined a game rental site so we could try them out before spending money to buy. All of the ones I’ve listed became repetitive and boring after many hours of continuous play, but I always wanted to play them again after some off time. Have fun!

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

