Secretariat–the Legend

Secretariat's statue at Belmont Park

Image via Wikipedia

I just watched the movie about Secretariat last night. It was like dipping into a bit of history. He was born in 1970 and won the Triple Crown in 1973. I was married in 1970 and can remember him being in the news. I lived in Texas, so was a bit removed from the Kentucky horse racing scene, but he was national news. He only raced two years. When he was two years old, he won Sanford Stakes, Hopeful Stakes, Belmont Futurity, Laurel Futurity, and Garden State Stakes. He was named horse of the year in 1972. In 1973, at age 3  he won the Kentucky Derby (new track record), Preakness Stakes (new track record), Belmont Stakes (new WORLD record), Bay Shore Stakes, Gotham Stakes (tied track record), Arlington Invitational, Marlboro Cup (new WORLD record), Man O’War Stakes (new course record), and Canadian International.He was Champion 3 year-old colt ~ Champion Grass Horse ~ Horse of the Year. ( http://www.secretariat.com/secretariat-history/ ) He sired over 650 foals and of those, 57 were stakes winners. He was an amazing animal. Only 11 horses have won the Triple Crown, and none since 1978. “The 11 Triple Crown winners are Sir Barton (1919), Gallant Fox (1930), Omaha (1935), War Admiral (1937), Whirlaway (1941), Count Fleet (1943), Assault (1946), Citation (1948), Secretariat (1973), Seattle Slew (1977), and Affirmed (1978).” (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States_Triple_Crown_of_Thoroughbred_Racing)

I loved the movie. Loved the excitement, and having a little glimpse into the racing life. The heroine of the movie was the woman who, when everyone thought she was crazy, was determined to race her red horse! I don’t know if she had a unique “horse sense”, great intuition, or was just really lucky.  Secretariat was one of a kind! It was quite nostalgic seeing the old hairdos and styles of clothes, and the cars! LOL  It is a Disney movie, family friendly, and worth the watch.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Secretariat–the Legend

  1. We watched this on family movie night a few weeks ago. Loved, loved, loved it!!!
    I was only 5 in 1973, so I don’t really remember any of this when it actually happened…but, it was exciting to watch the movie.

    I love true to life stories–this is one of the best:)

    The statistics you gave were interesting. So, no Triple Crown winners since ’78? Wow. It makes the horses that DID win, all the more impressive.

    I remember in college I went to Preakness with a friend. It was very exciting stuff. A great memory.

    Like

Leave a Reply

