Alternative to Knee Replacement Surgery?

Osteoarthritis of the left knee. Note the oste...

Image via Wikipedia

http://www.arthritisconnect.com/videos/416-arthritis-foundation-research-initiatives?utm_source=EmailNewsletter&utm_medium=Arthritis&utm_campaign=ACN20110303B

There is some exciting research going on at the Duke University on osteoarthritis. That is what I have. The cartilage in both knees has totally deteriorated leaving bone rubbing against bone. Without the cartilage in-between the joint of the knees…bone rubbing against bone causes a lot of pain. I also have bone spurs in my knees which prevent me from straightening out my legs. I stand with a bent-knee stance, almost like a squat. That doesn’t allow much success in standing, walking, or even keeping my balance long enough to go to the bathroom. So! New research on alternatives to knee replacement surgery caught my eye! It might be ready for human use in 5-7 years. They are using stem cells and fat and treating it with some type of growth hormone? did I get that right? And they will be able to inject into the joint this substance which will grow, or re-grow cartilage and prevent the knee replacement surgery! That sounds really exciting. Just not sure if it will be available and affordable for me to use in the future. I will have to keep my eye on this new research!

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Alternative to Knee Replacement Surgery?

  1. It seems really great and hope that this alternative works well and proves to be a successful alternative. Great one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

