Congress Proposes ‘Kill Switch’ for the Internet – Politics – CBN News – Christian News 24-7 – CBN.com

An unprotected kill switch.

Image via Wikipedia

Congress Proposes ‘Kill Switch’ for the Internet – Politics – CBN News – Christian News 24-7 – CBN.com

I’ve read this before and wrote a short blog. It’s still scary. Any government control of the internet in our country severely curtails our freedom and our freedom of speech! “Labeled cyberspace security, the proposed legislation would allow President Barack Obama to flip a virtual switch, shutting down parts of the Internet in the case of a severe cyber attack or national emergency. “This is a matter of national security,” Sen. Joe Lieberman, I-Conn.said. Lieberman, along with Sens. Tom Carper, D-Dela. and Susan Collins, R-Maine, introduced the Cybersecurity Freedom Act on Thursday.  It’s similar to a bill introduced last year that critics nicknamed the “Kill Switch Bill.”

“They” say a cyber attack on America would incapacitate our banks, communications, finances and transportation. Anyone would be a fool not to be worried about that. But, Seton Moley, president of Less Government, said there are about 100,000 cyber attacks every day that we don’t hear about. That is because our Internet Service Providers handle them and protect us. So…who needs the government to take over that protection? The bill will be introduced into congress in this session, but it is unlikely the Republican majority will pass it. Thank goodness. This is just too scary to think about.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

