I’m feeling really Handicapped today

Avon Renew

I recently decided to try selling AVON as a part-time job. I began all excited and eager to try this. Knowing I would be at a disadvantage from the start, because I can’t physically walk a neighborhood and hunt up customers, I was still eager to try to sell from my online AVON store. Well, 5 weeks have passed and things have been slower than I imagined. My daughter and  sister passed out between 40-50 new books with samples to a few blocks near my area. And as far as I can tell, not one of them has registered or ordered anything. This might be an extremely short-lived fantasy attempt. Maybe you can’t do something like AVON without being able to walk around meeting people and subtly pushing your wares. I’m disappointed and frustrated and just needed to let some of it out. It is when something like this happens that shows you how handicapped you really are, and then those thoughts of doubt come in with a storm…what were you thinking? You knew you couldn’t do this?….. I was so hoping this would be something I could do. I can probably wait another week or so, and then I’ll have to throw in the towel. I don’t have money to spend on new books/catalogues if I can’t get enough customers ordering to cover those expenses. Big sigh. Sorry to be so down today. Tomorrow will be a better day.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m feeling really Handicapped today

  1. tbaoo says:

    the net is the business .. i don’t need any, but many do .. good luck

    Like

  2. missdisplaced says:

    I don’t think you have to be “out and walking around” to sell Avon, but it does help to have a large network of people (work, church, volunteer groups, etc.)

    I think the real problem might be that most people simply don’t have the extra money to buy the little luxuries that Avon provides.

    I used to buy it all the time from a woman at work. I love Avon’s stuff. However, since being laid off I only buy that kind of stuff from the Dollar Tree or places like Big Lots. I know it sucks, and that buying Avon helps others, but I just can’t afford it.

    Like

    • estherlou says:

      You have a point. The need for a little extra money is what took me to AVON in the first place, and all of us are looking for bargains. I’m just glad AVON does offer lower priced items also, so I can buy a little myself. LOL

      Like

  3. Hi Estherlou,

    I can’t tell you how many ventures to make extra money I have tried and failed. All kinds of crafts, artwork, jewelry, etc. It’s very frustrating.

    And having to invest in your small business is very discouraging—so many times I’ve ended up losing money in the end.

    I think what ‘missdisplaced’ said is true, many people just can’t afford it. I love Avon too. I would love to buy Anew and other anti-aging products from Avon that get good reviews online, but I just can’t. I can’t even pay my bills. So I slather on sunscreen and hope for the best.

    I’m sorry I don’t have encouraging words for you. I hope you’re feeling better. Take care.

    Debra

    Like

Leave a Reply

