Lap Band anyone?

Gastric Banding

Image via Wikipedia

I recently talked about my visit to Lubbock. I was getting more information about knee-replacement surgery for the future. Since I am mostly “chair-bound” and have Lymphedema in my legs, he wanted to get all potential problems out-of-the-way before surgery, which means I need to lose another 100 lbs. before surgery can be scheduled. Sigh… Being chronically obese all of my life, this was not  unexpected news. What was new, was his recommendation to have lab band surgery to help me to lose the weight.  Since the suggestion came from the doctor, I actually listened and then looked into it.I talked to a couple of people who have had it done. One has lost 100 lbs. this year and the other over 60 lbs. I watched the dvd , read the brochure and then called them.

There is no longer a doctor in Amarillo who does the procedure. There is someone here who can adjust the band after you have the surgery. There is someone in Lubbock who does it, and the price for the procedure is $14,000. My information recommended going to Dallas. One of the men who actually helped to  invent the procedure is practicing there. He charges $9,500. I remembered how crippled I got just riding in the car and getting in and out of my wheelchair for the trip to Lubbock. I wondered how I would fare during a trip that takes 3 times longer. I called the lap band people, gave them my insurance information and waited for them to contact me with either good or bad news.

After playing phone tag and answering machine tag for a couple of weeks, we finally connected today. The news is… Blue Cross Blue Shield will not cover this procedure. So…I won’t be going to Dallas after all. Mixed blessings…

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lap Band anyone?

  1. phentermine says:

    Everything said was actually very logical. However, think about
    this, suppose you added a little information?
    I ain’t suggesting your information is not good., however suppose you added a title that makes people want more? I mean Lap Band anyone? | Estherlou’s Blog is kinda vanilla.
    You could peek at Yahoo’s front page and see how they create post headlines to grab people interested. You might add a video or a related picture or two to get readers excited about everything’ve got to say.
    Just my opinion, it might bring your posts a little
    livelier.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Lap Band anyone? | Estherlou's Blog | Lapband Help

Leave a Reply

