Driver’s License Renewal is easy? Right?

Cars parallel parked along K Street in Washing...

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve been renewing my license online for years. Finally, this year I received a letter telling me to come in for my renewal. Since the photo on my old license was probably 15 or 20 years old, I guess it was time.

Since I am now partly handicapped, awaiting knee replacement surgery on both knees, I don’t walk more than a few steps at a time with my walker. So hubby & I piled into the car, and once at the Department of Public Service (DPS), pulled out my wheelchair and joined the throng waiting in line.

We reached the front of the line after about a 30 minute wait. That’s when we discovered my wheelchair would not fit between the partitions to reach the clerk at the counter. That precipitated someone moving the pole/barrier so I could go around the corner of the partition and reach the counter from another direction. I had to stretch up to put my thumbs on the print reader and then had to pull the eye test machine down from the counter onto my face to pass the eye chart test. I took my lovely and momentous picture; hubby wrote out the check, and we prepared to get out of there in under an hour. That’s when they decided that since I came in a wheelchair that perhaps they should test me to see if I actually knew how to drive!

Egads! A driving test? My 61st birthday is December 7. How long has it been since I took a driving test? And I don’t think I’ve ever driven my husband’s car before! And do they still make us parallel park? OMG!

I drive around the building to pick up my tester. We make a great 1st impression when I couldn’t tell her where the insurance card for hubby’s car was. Just as she was getting a little short with me, hubby came walking around the corner to save the day. The tester checks my brake lights and right and left blinkers and gets into the car with me.

I drive forward, drive backwards, forward again, come to a quick and abrupt stop, and then have to parallel park. I tell her I don’t think I’ve parallel parked in at least 20 years. I back up, turn the wheel and back perfectly into the spot! I turn to her saying in excitement, “I did it!” and then let off the brake enough to back into the pole! Then we continue for the rest of the test. I drive in a 6-8 block route that takes me through stop signs, yield signs, turns and then back to where we began. I did really well…an 89. Bumping the pole caused me to fail parallel parking since the pole would have been a parked car. The only other mark against me was I cut a turn too sharp. OMG! I passed! Look out people! Grandma is on the road again!

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

