It’s time for Candy again!

A plate of chocolate delicacies.

Image via Wikipedia

It’s November! Almost Thanksgiving. And after that…Christmas!  Which means, it’s time for Chocolate!  This is the time of year perfect for homemade goodies and sweets you can use for gift giving.

I spent all last week at work making chocolate, chocolate, and more chocolate. Coconut Haystacks, Chocolate caramel crunchies, Rocky road, Turtles, Peanut clusters, Silky way balls, Caramel nut clusters, and coconut creme truffles. Can you see a theme here? Chocolate and coconut…chocolate, marshmallows and nuts…caramel & rice krispies dipped in chocolate…caramel & pecans covered in chocolate…marshmallow creme & chocolate rolled into balls & dipped in chocolate…coconut creme rolled into balls & dipped in chocolate…peanuts mixed in chocolate and dropped by spoonfuls…chocolate dipped pretzel logs.

Candy making takes time, which is shy I pick the recipes that are slightly less complicated. I use easily found ingredients such as marshmallows, marshmallow creme, coconut, pecans, peanuts, mixed nuts, pretzels, caramel and of course, chocolate. Most ingredients you can buy at any grocery store, but better quality chocolate  and caramel is purchased at your local cake decorating supply store. I’ve used Merkins chocolates for the last 15 years or so. An alternative is A’peels chocolate. Either is fine.

To make one-of-a-kind gifts, buy platters or small dessert plates in unique designs or colors and fill with your favorite home-made treats, chocolates, and cookies. If you don’t have the time or patience to make the cookies  and candies, buy the gifts from Cakes N’ More in Amarillo. You will be giving special and unique gifts your friends will remember with pleasure. And you will get to eat my yummy chocolates! Enjoy!

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

