Aging Gracefully?

Knee Replacements are "Perfect ."

Over  the past 15 years, my knees have gradually deteriorated. I’ve progressed from cane to walker, to wheelchair. Since obesity ran in both sides of my family, and since my dad had knee replacement surgery, I assumed that also “ran in the family”.

About a year ago, I finally had x-rays taken. I discovered I have many bone spurs in my knees which is what prevents my ability to straighten my legs.  This is the reason I can’t stand or walk for more than a few steps at a time. Imagine trying to walk in a somewhat squatted position. Add to that, an infection in my leg 8 months before that put me in the hospital, brought a diagnosis of lymphedema and a couple of months of therapy. Now I have the dubious pleasure of wearing compression pantyhose or knee highs to control the swelling, prevent cellulitis and keep me out of the hospital

I was also informed I need a double knee replacement. We took a trip to Lubbock for a second opinion/consultation with a surgeon at the Tech Center. My lymphedema, my history of cellulitis, and my weight all are of concern to my surgeon. He prefers to avoid any potential problems instead of putting out fires when they happen. If an infection set in after replacement surgery, all the implants…metal and plastic would have to be removed to cure the infection. Not something to look forward to!

I have kept off the almost 100 lbs. I lost over 2 years ago, and now it is time to start trying to lose weight once again. It is time to look toward regaining my mobility and my life. Pray for me…

 

 

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

