Graduate school – those were the good ol' days

I started college after high school and managed to go two years before getting married. Two children and almost 20 years later, I went back to school to finish my bachelors degree. It was a total culture shock for me to find myself among students who were the age of my children! I hadn’t read a book worth remembering since I got married, so learning to read and retain what i read was a big first step. I also was friends with many of the instructors and found it difficult switching hats from peer/friend to student. I found many teachers treated under classmen as idiots and fools and found it difficult to adjust to being treated like a juvenile. Despite all of the transitions, I loved learning and loved going to school again. Since I was enjoying myself so much, I decided to continue on and work on my Masters degree. The difference in how the student was treated was enormous. The teachers realized you were serious about your studies and started treating us as adults. School became even more fun! You are never too old to learn. Don’t let your age hold you back if you want to go back to school. For me, it was a wonderful and affirming 6 years. I loved every minute of it!

Powered by Plinky

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Graduate school – those were the good ol' days

  1. Catherine says:

    I enjoyed going back to school as well. Although I didn’t have as long of a break as you did, it still felt different. But going to a local community college seemed to be a popular choice for students of all ages, so I didn’t feel too out of place. I didn’t see much of the teachers treating students like idiots, but I saw some students who should have stayed in High School a few more years to grow up.

    When I was in High School, I didn’t want to be there and didn’t get very good grades. So when I went back to school, I was able to see and prove to myself that my brain was functioning and I got straight A’s. That helped my self-image so much. I realized that I loved learning. One of these days, I’d like to go back again and continue where I left off.

    Like

Leave a Reply

