Could you live without a car for a year?

I don’t live in a large city but it is not small enough to get around without transportation. It takes me 15 minutes to drive to work or to Church. Actually, everywhere I go is within that time frame. My problem is, I am partly handicapped. I need two total knee replacements, so I am not able to walk more than a few steps at a time. Having my car enables me to continue to work. If I need to go shopping, someone has to help me, either helping me with my wheelchair, or getting one of those scooters in the store to get around in. If I didn’t have a car, I would be totally dependant on others to take me places. It would make life more difficult and a much smaller place to live in. Besides, I like to drive.

Powered by Plinky

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Could you live without a car for a year?

  1. Catherine says:

    It’s interesting how different life is in different cities. Here in Amarillo, Tx, you can drive down a resdintial street and there are at least 2 cars in every driveway, sometimes another parked on teh street. The public transportation, which is just the city bus, is used mainly by people who are on some type of gov assistance, or even homeless.

    Then take a crowded city like New York. Public transportation is more common as are bikes and (*gasp*) Walking. Not everyone has a car. People ride buses, the subway, and take Taxis. If is isn’t so far, they walk. I just can’t imagine. Amarillo isn’t very big, but I can’t imagine not having my own car.

    Maybe if we had more public transportation choices, and maybe if the town wasn’t so spread out…

    Like

Leave a Reply

