Common Courtesy

I seem to remember that when I was growing up, being taught manners and common courtesy was pretty normal. Please and thank you were just easy and polite ways to interact with people every day. I’m sure I rebelled. A favorite phrase today would probably be “whatever” accompanied with a rolling of eyes.

Please and thank you are the easiest way to get people to notice you. They might not ever say anything, but people respect polite behavior.. You can expect to get more help or appreciation when you always thank someone. Some might say ‘Well, it’s their job to do that!” That may be true, but everyone likes being appreciated for what they do, no matter how big or small the task. In the beginning, you might be the only one saying please or thank you. After a while, you will begin to see others pick it up, or at least respond when you say thank you. It makes the workplace much more pleasant.

Did someone hold open a door for you today? or bring you a cup of coffee? or tell you how nice you looked? Say thank you and smile. Did your spouse or child do something unasked? What a gift! Say thank you! Did the person in the drive-thru say “Have a nice day”? Say thank you. Did someone pick up something you dropped? Say thank you. Soon it will be second nature to you to be pleasant and kind to others. Common courtesy goes a long way. You’ll be amazed at how much more enjoyable your everyday life will become. Give it a try.

Powered by Plinky

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Common Courtesy

  1. Catherine says:

    That makes me think of a time when my brother brought his family to town several months ago. I don’t know if saying ‘excuse me’ is not common in Shreveport, or if this just isn’t a courtesy my brother and his wife bothered to teach the kids.
    We were in a small burger joint that was kinda crowded. The table and chairs were close enough together that if someone was sitting at the table behind you, the chair backs were practically touching. So movement between the tables was pretty tricky.
    Two of their kids were doing the ‘gofer-ing’ since none of the rest of us could get up to get anything. And even their tiny body had to squish through the aisles. Several times, they seemed to practically climb onto some stranger’s back to get through with their hands full.
    Not once they they say anything to these other people who were trying to move to help them through or being climbed on. It made me feel weird. I kept wanting to say something – tell the kids to say ‘excuse me’ or something, or appologize to the people. But I didn’t. (I really should have if it is still bothering me to this day.)
    So my point is… even something as small and simple as saying ‘excuse me’ when you are crawling across someone can make a big difference. At leat they know you don’t mean to cause any discomfort and shows you are considering their feelings instead of just thinking they are in the way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

