Trying to stay positive

A little over a year ago, the Owens Corning plant in our area had a large lay-off because of the diminishing use of fiberglass products. Our daughter was one of the 300+ people who lost their jobs with assurances of call-backs. The company pre-arranged for them all to draw unemployment.

A sudden cut in salary creates a lot of stress. How long until I will be called back to work? How will I pay my bills on half of my salary? Her unemployment paid her a little over $1600 a month. There were no other jobs in the area to be had for that kind of money. Trying to stretch her money each month became impossible over time, as bills were paid late or not at all.  When 45 jobs opened up at Owens, over 1400 people applied. When Congress suddenly and without warning,  froze the benefits recently, our daughter found herself in dire straights.

She is now trying to find any kind of work, and it seems as if there are too many people vying for every job in our area. She has had numerous positive 1st and 2nd interviews only to be turned down in the end. After time, it is difficult to stay positive and hopeful. You begin to doubt yourself and doubt your capabilities. Why won’t they hire me? begins to eat at your thoughts. Desperation is close at hand. Any job now will be too little, too late. Her credit has been destroyed. Robbing Peter to pay Paul only works in the short-term. I only hope she will be able to keep from losing her home. I can’t see the economic situation getting much worse. Surely things can only get better from here.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trying to stay positive

  1. altonwoods says:

    “Surely things can only get better from here.”

    I really hope they do get better for your daughter, God Bless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

