My Husband is a saint!

I was talking with a friend the other day. We had heard about a woman whose husband had lost his job through his neglect. She is currently divorcing him. It made us stop and think and appreciate what we have! This year I will be married to the same man for 40 years! It seems amazing, but I’m certain it is only by God’s grace! I’m nothing special, not “Suzy-home-maker” by any means, just someone ordinary who found someone special when I was in the 7th grade. He told me that as soon as we met, that I was the girl he was going to marry! Wow! Don’t get me wrong. We’re not perfect, and there is no such thing as a perfect marriage! What there is, is committment and the determination to stay together for life! All of this made me think of a poem I wrote a couple of years ago. Here it is re-worked a little bit.

You have loved me forever I never knew why.
So teasing and kind to someone so shy.

You gave yourself freely. We started a life;
You as my husband, me as your wife.

You were lover and friend, the other half of my soul;
two sides of a coin together made whole.

You were father, provider, anchor to tears;
steadfast and faithful through days, weeks and years.

We are wrinkled and older and you are still here.
My heart song, my match, the one I hold dear.

In happiness and joy through losses and pain;
stable and true, always the same.

A gift from above sharing my life.
How blessed I have been to have been your wife!
Oh how I love you!

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Husband is a saint!

  1. Stephen says:

    really great poem!!!!!!!

    Like

  2. Catherine says:

    Did you ever give this to him?? I wonder what he would say. (or what did he say if the answer to question 1 is Yes?)

    Like

Leave a Reply

