Holiday Blues

As long as I can remember, I’ve been one of those people who get depressed at the holidays. Not sure why. Partly, holidays are extra busy for the bakery/cake shop business…all of those Christmas cookies! So, extra busy at work, getting tired and not enough rest, worrying about money and presents to buy, living with a semi-Scrooge who wants to say ‘Bah Humbug’ every year…take your pick. And perhaps, losing a younger sister in December one year. Add to that, the rest of the family decides they are coming to my house for Thanksgiving dinner and for Christmas dinner!

But I’ve made progress this year! I started stewing and worrying, and then decided the heck with it! The house wasn’t perfect, but the toilet was clean! I cooked the turkey and gravy, fixed stovetop stuffing, and they brought the rest! We put a long table in my small living room, and 8 of us gathered around it and had a great time! Mom, sister and niece, brother, daughter, neighbor, hubby and I all ate our fill and had a nice relaxing visit. After all…it’s the fellowship that’s important, not if the house is immaculate! Both holiday dinners were great and quite enjoyable and stress-free. It’s taken me 60 years, but perhaps I’m getting the hang of things! Life is too short to live in stress!

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

