‘Tis the Season

We spent last weekend giving thanks and spending time with our families. Now, it is December and we are preparing for Christmas. We plan to give gifts to family and friends, and perhaps, to give of ourselves to others less fortunate.

A couple of years ago, I found a webpage called the Angel card project. There are two sides to the project. It is set up to send Christmas cards to shut-ins, those experiencing hard times, or those in nursing homes with no family at all. You can submit names of those you know would enjoy receiving a Christmas card at a sometimes lonely time of year.  I signed up my mother that year. She is 84 and lives alone. She got over 80 Christmas cards from people all over the country. She was so pleased and excited to look for her mail that December!

The second side to the project is for those who would enjoy sending out cards. You can sign up to be an Angel card sender, and then can pick and choose from the list of submitted names. You can send out one card, or one hundred…it is up to you to decide. Sending at least one Christmas card to someone who has no one, is a small, but  fulfilling way to give of yourself at Christmastime.

The webpage is http://www.countrychurchcrafts.com/2009angelcardproject  .  There is much information to get past. Scroll down the page until you find the 2009 guidelines. There you will find the links to either submit the name of someone, or to sign up as a card sender. There is not much time left! The deadline to submit a name is Dec. 3rd. The information is down at the bottom of the page. Keep scrolling down until you find both sections. There will be an email link to sign up or to submit a name. Be sure to follow the example when submitting a name. I endorse this program thoroughly! It blessed my mother, and it blessed me as I sent out cards to those alone or lonely.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘Tis the Season

  1. Agnes says:

    This is an awesome project. Thanks for the information and for your personal testimonial about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

