Giving Thanks

Most of us spent last thursday with family or friends eating turkey and giving thanks in the only national holiday set aside for that express purpose: to give thanks to God for what we have.

I want to express some of what I am thankful for. I am thankful for the man I met 46 years ago in 1963 who has loved me, supported me, and cared for me faithfully during 39 years of marriage.

I want to give thanks for our son, who has become a wonderful husband, father to 4, and a man of prayer.

I want to give thanks for our daughter, who has helped drive me,care for me, and become my friend through a difficult year of hospital stay, and out-patient lymphedema therapy. She continues to be a blessing and an encourager to me.

I want to give thanks for my Church home. It has nourished me and nurtured me since 1990 and given me much.

I want to give thanks for my relationship with God the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, without whom I could not get through each day. I am thankful for the opportunity to pray and to give thanks and to know I am heard.

And I want to give thanks for The Disciples of the Lord Jesus Christ, a community of Nuns, who have befriended me, and prayed for me since 1990. They are a wonderful example of how to live a Holy life.

What do you have to be thankful for?

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

