Shingles anyone?

I did my trip to the hospital. I did the Lymphedema Therapy 3 times a week. I finally finished that and began wearing compression hose to control the Lymphedema. First I tried compression leggings with knee hi hose on top. Then I tried the leggings with thigh hi hose. I finally settled on compression panty hose with compression knee hi sports socks on top.

So when things finally seemed to settle into a somewhat stable routine again, I develop a burning, itching pain that won’t quit in the left side of my back right behind my breast. This lasted a couple of days. I wondered if I pulled a muscle or something. I started imagining heart trouble. I can’t get comfortable and pain medication doesn’t seem to help. And then I broke out in a rash on my back and around my left side along the bra line. Ok then. A trip to the doctor confirms my suspicion that this is shingles. That is an inflammation of the nerve endings and it is quite painful to the touch. If you ever had the chicken poxs as a child, you carry the virus in your system and might get shingles one day.

Even though I’ve caught it early, and began anti-viral medication, the shingles has to take its course and continues to break out until it is full blown. I am unable to wear a bra. Some days the pain seems to level off and other days it burns and stings and itches and never lets up. I heard about a friend at church who had the shingles and it was so bad we didn’t see him for 3 months! I’m so glad this is a “mild” case! The bad thing is, the longer the pain lasts, the less my tolerance seems to be. It is supposed to get better in about 5 weeks! Oh happy days!

P.S. I wrote this 5 weeks ago when this began…I’m happy to tell you, I’m over the shingles. There is some residual markings like birth marks on my back, but the major rash is gone and the pain is gone too. Yeah!

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shingles anyone?

  1. cindy says:

    just found out i have shingles, its exactly same places u had ur’s, im curious, mine is umcomfortable, but not badly, can pain come, or if i would have bad pain it would have been there from the start???and how long does the itching last???

    Like

    • estherlou says:

      I got the pain before any other symptoms. The rash and itching came later. Mine was itching and pain together which lasted about a month. Seemed endless.

      Like

Leave a Reply

