Prayer Shawl Ministry

I recently noticed an interesting offer in our Church bulletin. A group of women were giving away blessed prayer shawls for those who wanted one. They were to comfort those with a serious illness or who had received a negative prognosis, or just for those who wanted to use the shawl as a means to pray and get closer to God. I thought, Hmm…sounds almost Jewish. How interesting.

Beneath that notice, was an announcement for the meeting of the women who were knitting and crocheting the prayer shawls. Now I was really intrigued. I like to knit and crochet, but since my attention span is shorter than it used to be, I need a small project to do. This seemed ideal! The whole idea was wonderful to me. As a recipient, knowing someone prayed as they began the shawl, prayed as they knitted, and then prayed over it when they finished it was comforting. And then, knowing the shawls were blessed before they were given away was just an added bonus.

I’m always looking for small ways that I can give back to the church and this sounded perfect for me. They gave me the sets of prayers, 3 skeins of yarn and the instructions. I am knitting my 1st prayer shawl and have already bought more yarn for my 2nd. Knowing my prayers and my shawl might give comfort to someone in need gives me great satisfaction.

I have learned that this ministry is national. It crosses denominational lines. The main web page is http://www.shawlministry.com/. There is a links page to look for groups in your area, though it is not complete.

Whether you would like to own a prayer shawl, or begin knitting them to give away, this is worth looking in to. Happy knitting!

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prayer Shawl Ministry

  1. DeEtta Peek says:

    Hi! Esther. I belong to a prayer shawl group in Columbia. We have women from several churches in our group and meet every 3rd Thursday to knit/crochet, talk, pray for needs, and pray over the shawls we give away.

    Uncle Charles was given to him when he had cancer. It comforted us both. This ministry has blessed many as well as myself when he was gone.

    Aunt Dee

    Like

Leave a Reply

