Cellulitis anyone?

I have been blessed with good health my whole life. I don’t often get a cold and have had the flu one time I remember for sure. I go to the doctor twice a year for a mini check-up on my blood pressure and to renew my prescriptions. There is nothing more debilitating than a severe illness. Cellulitis, if you have never had it, is not at all fun. The onset of it, makes you think you are catching the flu. You have extreme pain in some of your extremities. Mine hits my hands and wrists to the point of tears. Then you will get chills and extreme nausea. After about 6 hours of that, your cellulitis will show up, probably as an extreme hot spot on your leg with swelling and redness and pain to the touch. After enduring the nausea for so long, you pretty much think you are dying. It can be dangerous. The infection under the layers of skin can spread to the blood stream, so this needs to be taken care of quickly. I thought it was an “old peoples” disease, but my husband heard of an 18 year old kid who got it. Anyway, I must be a wuss. I am not a good personality type to get sick. Perhaps since I never had much practice I don’t know the proper protocal. I tend to moan a lot, and rock and try to get comfortable in the bed, which is not easy to do, since the nausea is really extreme, you are getting hot and then cold, and your leg is hot and swollen. Halleluia for antibiotics! I got a shot and a prescription. My leg hurt all night, and it’s more red and swollen this morning, but I guess the drugs need a chance to take care of the infection. It was pretty scary for awhile. I usually go to work at 7a.m. on Fridays and made it there about 11:30. I am the wedding cake decorator for my shop, and there were 5 weddings for the weekend! The other girls could do 2 of the smaller ones, but there were 3 I absolutely had to do myself! Thank God I am over the nausea and feeling like I am in the land of the living again! I’m off to finish the wedding cakes now. Have a good day!

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cellulitis anyone?

  1. Catherine Garcia says:

    Well, I have never had cellulitis, but I agree that I have always thought of it as an old person disease. It usually affects older people since they are the onces with diminished circulation and immunity. Diabetics can have it too.

    I guess I will deal with it later in my life, so it’s nice to know what the symptoms are.

    Like

  2. Eusen says:

    Wow!what an idea!Whataconcept!

    Like

Leave a Reply

