Life changes in a Second!

My husband and I were driving on the local highway towards downtown, to pick up our daughter for an early supper together. We have set aside Sunday as the one special time the three of us spend together uninterrupted. One minute we were enjoying our conversation and the beautiful weather, and the next minute someone was trying to merge into our lane without realizing we were in it. Trying to swerve safely at 60 mph and honk at the same time is not as easy as it sounds! It seemed as if time slowed down and sped up all at the same time. It was quite unusual. You are strangely calm as well as full of the adrenaline rush and the terrifying realization that you have no control whatsoever on this particular second of time. Both cars survived untouched and went on our seperate ways as they swerved back and the highway diverged. Reaction set in later. What had they been thinking? 60 mph is really faster than we realize. We are really not as safe in our cars as we think we are! We are not immortal. Life is really short. And no matter how old you become, you tend to get attached to this life and are not ready to give it up without an argument.

This has touched me deeply. Some people might think, ‘Wow! we were lucky!’ and never think on it again. Things happen every day and we take them for granted. This made me thank God repeatedly for my relationship with Him and for His protection in that moment. This made me more appreciative of my relationship with my husband of 39 years this June. This made me thankful for the relationship we have with our two grown children and how precious each and every moment we have to spend with them truly is. This reminded me that there are fewer days ahead of me than there are behind me. This reminded me I need to cherish each thing I do and enjoy it to the fullest, whether it is reading a book, or spending time with my husband. It reminded me to continue to grow closer to God as I deepen my prayer life and seek His presence in my life. It reinforced what I already knew…life is too short to spend in petty arguments, bickering or strife. Life is too short to spend stressing out at work.  Learn to shrug off what is not important and enjoy what is. Seek peace. And above all else, look to the future and prepare for what comes next.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Life changes in a Second!

  1. Catherine says:

    I was driving down the highway the other day watching a motorcycle zip around through traffic and it made me think of this post.
    He was going faster than I was, zipped by me and weaved around a few other cars to get up ahead. He WASN’t wearing a helmet, nothing between him and the road other than the wind and his wheels.
    So he started to head off an exit ramp, probably going 65-70 MPH (if not more) when he changed his mind. So he had to swing hard to get back into the lane from the exit ramp. All I could think of was how easy it would have been for him to loose his balance and kill himself, and how lucky he was that no one was in that lane he shot into.

    Think about how scary that would have been if you were in that lane when a dummy did something like that! If there had been someone there, there wouldn’t be time to stop, he popped in way too fast and the car would have had no choice but to plow over him.

    Like

  2. Rose says:

    Thank you for stopping by and becoming a reader of my blog! I enjoy what you are doing here, very nice writing! We’ll be seeing you ’round the blogosphere! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

