Times have changed

The first time I was going to vote was in 1970 when I was 20 years old. I was newly married and innocent. I grew up in a Democratic household, so I voted Democrat. Years passed. Kids came, along with bills and mortgages, and rising prices and inflation and recessions. My moral and Christian values grew more conservative while the political arena gradually changed. After many years, it seemed as if the two major parties switched places. The Republicans became more conservative and the Democrats more liberal. I switched sides. When my kids were grown I went back to college. In time, I became an armchair activist, signing petitions, writing my congressmen regularly concerning life, marraige and the American way. We grew up knowing politicians weren’t to be relied on, you could only trust them so far, but still, I wrote letters, signed petitions and said my prayers. In the last election, I watched and read obsessively and stayed up with all of the furor in both parties. Meanwhile, other issues were brought forth. Was there global warming or was it just the natural warming and cooling of the planet like what had happened since the beginning of time. Should there be socialized medicine? Who’d pay for it? Me…I only make $10 an hour. Should we allow all of the illegals who were working without paying taxes, and sending their money home, out of the US, to get free medical care? I don’t have free medical care. The one time my husband lost his job and our family of 4 was trying to live on my $125. a week, we couldn’t get assistance…I made too much money. Then, a stupid law made it okay for people to buy houses they couldn’t afford until the economy couldn’t take it anymore. Now, the government is stepping in to give loans to big banks and big business who have made grave errors in judgement. Again, who’s going to pay for that loan? Me? I wish one time my checkbook could run a deficit like the government without me being penalized. No one is going to help us make our mortgage payment. We’ve tried to refinance and were told our debt ratio was too high. We’ve still managed to make the mortgage payment on time.We don’t use credit cards except in emergencies. We use our debit card.  I still drive a 20 year old car. It would be nice to have a newer one. After awhile, it all gets to be a little overwhelming. I’m not going to stick my head in the sand, but I am going to ignore my emails for awhile and let the world worry about itself without my help. I’ll continue to say my prayers and just worry about my small little world. Like, will there really be social security in 8 years when I’m 67 and want to retire?

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

